DEAR MOTHER played their first ever concert on 13 May at Zik Zak in Ittre, Belgium. The band, led by the now famous guitarist Merel Bechtold, delighted the audience with almost the entirety of their debut album “Bulletproof” released in July 2021. The Belgian band Cellar Twins had the honour of opening the evening.

At the beginning of 2020, news of a new project by Merel Bechtold in collaboration with her ex-bandmate in Delain, Joey Marin de Boer, began to appear on the social networks. The guitarist and drummer were then joined by David Pear on vocals and DEAR MOTHER was revealed. A crowdfunding campaign followed to finance a twelve-track debut album, entitled “Bulletproof“, which was released in July 2021 (see our article on this subject: Dear Mother, new Merel Bechtold’s baby). The release of the album is accompanied by no less than five music videos (to be found here: https://www.youtube.com/c/DearMotherTV/videos) to promote it while waiting to play it on stage.

And now it’s done! The first two DEAR MOTHER shows took place on 13 and 14 May. The first one at Zik Zak in Ittre, Belgium (where we were), and the second one in Utrecht, Netherlands.

A few weeks earlier, the trio had launched a call for applications on social networks to recruit two bands to open for them. For the evening of 13 May, Cellar Twins was selected.

It’s not an easy task for Cellar Twins to capture the attention of the fans who have come to see DEAR MOTHER on stage and who have been waiting impatiently for two years. And yet, the four young musicians manage to do it with their alternative rock/metal set. A modern sound, sometimes aggressive, sometimes soaring, and a good energy on stage, that’s how I would sum up the efficient performance of Cellar Twins. You can feel their comfort level on stage and the audience is receptive, in short a good start to the evening. The Belgian quartet defends their album “Duality” released at the end of 2019 as well as some new tracks. Their latest single, “Abyss“, was released last February, I’ll let you have a closer look here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQ4HoyAr4hA. 

After a short break, it was time for the headliner to unveil itself. Present but injured, Joey Marin de Boer will finally not be behind the drums that night, to my great dismay. Merel Bechtold and David Pear took to the stage with three session musicians. The show is interrupted for the first time at the end of the first track by a power cut. No matter, the gas is turned on again and the show is back on. To please everyone, DEAR MOTHER have chosen not to make any choices: the entire “Bulletproof” album is played tonight. The only thing missing from the set on May 13th (but which will be played the next day in the Netherlands) is the magnificent ballad “Palace” which closes the album. The evening ends with “Symbiose” which is unfortunately interrupted three times by new power cuts when David had just asked the audience to give all the energy they had left. At the third interruption, which occurred almost at the end of the song, the band decided to leave it at that. Shortly after leaving the stage, the musicians are back at the merch stand where they are very available to chat with the fans and take some pictures.

Technical incidents did not detract from the evening in the end. DEAR MOTHER definitely won over the audience. It was so good to hear this much listened to album live! The musicians were smiling from start to finish and David was generous with his interactions with the audience. There was an obvious closeness between the band and the fans, and everyone seemed very happy to share this moment. I, for one, am still on cloud nine. No other dates have been announced yet, but I hope we’ll be able to see DEAR MOTHER on stage again very soon. One thing is for sure, I will be there, and I can only advise you to join us.

Cellar Twins

DEAR MOTHER

C’est au Zik Zak à Ittre en Belgique que DEAR MOTHER donnait son tout premier concert le 13 mai dernier. La formation, menée par la désormais célèbre guitariste Merel Bechtold, a su ravir le public en proposant la quasi intégralité de leur debut album « Bulletproof » sorti en juillet 2021. En première partie, ce sont les belges de Cellar Twins qui ont eu l’honneur d’ouvrir la soirée.

Au début de l’année 2020, on commence à voir apparaître sur les réseaux quelques infos sur un nouveau projet de Merel Bechtold en collaboration avec son ex-acolyte dans Delain, Joey Marin de Boer. La guitariste et le batteur sont ensuite rejoints par David Pear au chant et c’est ainsi que DEAR MOTHER est révélé. S’ensuit une campagne de crowfunding afin de financer un premier album de douze titres, intitulé « Bulletproof », qui voit le jour en juillet 2021 (retrouve ici notre article à ce sujet : Dear Mother, nouveau bébé de Merel Bechtold). La sortie de l’album est accompagnée de pas moins de cinq clip vidéos (à retrouver ici : https://www.youtube.com/c/DearMotherTV/videos ) pour le promouvoir en attendant de pouvoir le jouer sur scène.

Et c’est chose faite désormais ! Les 13 et 14 mai dernier avaient lieu les deux premiers concerts de DEAR MOTHER. Le premier au Zik Zak à Ittre en Belgique (où nous étions), et le second à Utrecht aux Pays Bas.

Quelques semaines auparavant, le trio avait lancé un appel à candidature sur les réseaux sociaux pour recruter deux groupes afin d’assurer les premières parties de ces concerts. Pour la soirée du 13 mai, c’est Cellar Twins qui a été sélectionné.

La mission n’est pas facile pour Cellar Twins : réussir à capter l’attention des fans venus découvrir sur scène DEAR MOTHER qu’ils attendent avec impatience depuis deux ans. Et pourtant, les quatre jeunes musiciens s’en sortent haut la main avec leur set rock/metal alternatif. Un son moderne tantôt agressif tantôt planant et une bonne énergie sur scène, c’est ainsi que je te résumerais la prestation efficace de Cellar Twins. On les sent plutôt à l’aise sur scène et le public se montre réceptif, bref un bon début de soirée. Le quatuor belge défend notamment son album « Duality » paru en fin d’année 2019 ainsi que quelques nouveaux titres. Leur dernier single, « Abyss« , est sorti en février dernier, je te laisse y jeter un œil attentif ici : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQ4HoyAr4hA.

Après une petite pause, le moment est venu pour la tête d’affiche de se dévoiler. Présent mais blessé, Joey Marin de Boer ne sera finalement pas derrière les fûts ce soir là, à mon grand désarroi. Merel Bechtold et David Pear montent donc sur scène avec trois musiciens de session. Le show est interrompu une première fois à la fin du premier titre par une coupure électrique. Qu’à cela ne tienne, on remet les gaz et c’est reparti. Pour ravir tout le monde, DEAR MOTHER a choisi de ne pas faire de choix : c’est bien l’intégralité de l’album « Bulletproof » qui est jouée ce soir. Seule absente du set du 13 mai (mais qui sera jouée le lendemain aux Pays Bas) : la magnifique balade « Palace » qui clôt l’album. La soirée s’achève avec « Symbiose » qui est malheureusement interrompue trois fois par de nouvelles coupures électriques alors que David venait juste de demander au public de donner toute l’énergie qu’il lui restait. A la troisième coupure survenue presque à la fin du morceaux, le groupe décide d’en rester là. Rapidement après leur sortie de scène on peut retrouver les musiciens au stand de merch où ils se montrent très disponibles pour échanger avec les fans et faire quelques photos.

Des incidents techniques qui n’auront finalement pas réussi à pâlir la soirée. DEAR MOTHER a définitivement conquis le public. Que c’était bon d’entendre en live cet album écouté maintes fois ! Les musiciens sont restés souriant du début à la fin et David s’est montré généreux en interactions avec les spectateurs. Il y avait une proximité évidente entre le groupe et les fans, et tous semblaient très heureux de partager ce moment. Pour ma part, je suis encore sur mon petit nuage. Pas d’autres dates annoncées à ce jour mais j’espère qu’on pourra revoir DEAR MOTHER sur scène très prochainement. Une chose est sûre, je serai au rendez-vous, et je ne peux que te conseiller de te joindre à nous.

Cellar Twins

DEAR MOTHER