Go to Luxembourg this time (a very distant land for the Belgian I am). Death fans from the surrounding area gathered on Saturday, February 29th at the Rock Box, an iconic venue of the region offering diverse musical evenings.

Once the entrance (which looks like a nightclub) has passed, once the small wooden staircase has been climbed and once the welcome stamp has been placed on my hand, I find myself in a beautiful little room, halfway between an attic and a saloon. As usual, everyone is accustomed to the bar and everyone seems to know each other. The atmosphere is excellent.

The almost two hours of travel make me arrive late and I unfortunately miss three quarters of the Theophagist concert.

Kraton begins, proposing a fierce and controlled death. The band offers a precise set, with a high and sometimes heavy atmosphere (the band says they want to invite the spectators to a reflection on the human condition). Wink to the drummer, whose energy is dripping from her cymbals! Kraton definitely signs my discovery of this evening.

The Headbanger Tour wakes the dead with a great death metal poster
The Headbanger Tour wakes the dead with a great death metal poster

It’s Infected’s turn to climb on stage. I’ve always tended to say that bands that just looked like a bunch of school buddies wouldn’t go far. But in the case of Infected, we’re dealing with a bunch of dudes made up of talented musicians! If in some bands we look for cohesion, fun and sometimes even a smile, with Infected, we are inundated with brotherhood and joy. You can tell yourself that the singer sometimes misses a bit of seriousness, but is that really a problem?

The band, composed of musicians with other projects (Coalition, Ardenne Heavy, etc.) offers an interesting mix of thrash/ death/ groove, which works very well and I liked it very much. The audience too !

The Headbanger Tour wakes the dead with a great death metal poster
The Headbanger Tour wakes the dead with a great death metal poster

Back forced, I will not have the opportunity to see Desdemonia again, which I had discovered at the Metaldays 2019 and which had left me a great impression.

The Headbanger Tour offers an extremely high-quality poster in a well chosen location!

Valentine Cordier

Direction le Luxembourg cette fois (contrée fort fort lointaine pour la petite Belge francophone que je suis). Les fans de death des environs se sont donnés rendez-vous le samedi 29 février au Rock Box, lieu emblématique de la région proposant des soirées musicales diversifiées.

Une fois l’entrée (qui ressemble à celle d’une boîte de nuit) passée, une fois le petit escalier en bois grimpé et une fois le tampon d’accueil apposé sur ma main, je me retrouve dans une magnifique petite salle, à mi-chemin entre un grenier et un saloon. Comme d’ordinaire, tout le monde est accoudé au bar et tout le monde semble se connaître. L’ambiance est excellente.

Les presque deux heures de trajet me font arriver en retard et je rate malheureusement trois quarts du concert de Theophagist.

Kraton commence, proposant un death féroce et maîtrisé. Le groupe offre un set précis, à l’atmosphère planante et parfois pesante (le groupe dit vouloir inviter les spectateurs à une réflexion sur la condition humaine). Clin d’œil à la batteuse, dont l’énergie dégouline de ses cymbales ! Kraton signe définitivement ma découverte de cette soirée.

Le Headbanger Tour offre une affiche death à réveiller les morts
Véronique derrière la batterie
Le Headbanger Tour offre une affiche death à réveiller les morts

C’est au tour d’Infected de grimper sur scène. J’ai toujours eu tendance à dire que les groupes qui avaient seulement l’air d’une bande de copains d’école n’iraient pas loin. Mais dans le cas d’Infected, on fait face à une bande de potes composée de musiciens doués ! Si chez certains groupes on cherche la cohésion, l’amusement et parfois même, un sourire, avec Infected, on est inondés de fraternité et de joie. On peut se dire que le chanteur manque parfois un peu de sérieux, mais est-ce vraiment un problème ?

Le groupe, composé de musiciens ayant d’autres projets (Coalition, Ardenne Heavy, …) propose un mélange intéressant de thrash / death / groove, qui fonctionne très bien et m’a beaucoup plu. Au public aussi, au vu des acclamations.

Le Headbanger Tour offre une affiche death à réveiller les morts
Le Headbanger Tour offre une affiche death à réveiller les morts

Retour oblige, je n’aurai pas l’occasion de revoir Desdemonia, que j’avais découvert aux Metaldays 2019 et qui m’avait laissé une impression géniale.

Le Headbanger Tour propose donc une affiche d’extrême qualité, dans un endroit bien choisi !

Valentine Cordier