I am really nervous when I enter the Sportpaleis of Antwerp on the evening of the 2nd of February. It was a hell to park the car, there are people everywhere and I don’t really know where to go despite the instructions I received at the entrance in a small stamped envelope. Fortunately, I met some less stressed colleagues who helped me.

Amaranthe, one of my favourite bands, opens the evening in this huge venue that keeps filling up. With their electro metal, the Swedes are just the perfect choice to warm up the audience. Their ultra catchy choruses seem to work pretty well on the first rows. To relax, I sing along every song. There’s so much space in this photo pit that I doubt the others can hear me. However, I am embarrassed by the Sabaton set already installed, all the bands are condemned to play behind barbed wires. Either, Amaranthe’s performance is excellent: energetic to the max as well as musically and vocally impeccable, the three singers performing really well in their respective styles. The setlist is also well thought out, gathering several songs from each album, among which we find “Digital World”, “Hunger”, “GG6”, “That Song”, “The Nexus” and also “Amaranthine”, the obvious ballad to take a little break in this intense set. Just great! Even if, of course, these 45 minutes spent with Amaranthine leave me with a taste of far too little.

The Great Tour: When Sabaton sets the Sportpaleis on fire!

Little break, little beer. At the price they are (3,50€) and knowing that the instructions for Sabaton shooting are particular, we go easy. Then, we go on with the Finns from Apocalyptica who start their show with a track from their latest album “Cell-0”, released in January of this year. Their music is atmospheric and dark, it takes to the guts. The cello is so beautiful! And played like that, it’s really impressive. The band offers a visual show as well, psychedelic images scrolling on the screens in the background. After three original compositions, the musicians are joined by Elize Ryd of Amaranthe for two tracks, including “Seemann”, a famous Rammstein song. It must be said that Apocalyptica is best known for its covers, especially those of Metallica. Tonight, the band proposes “Seek & Destroy” and “Nothing Else Matters” for the greatest pleasure of the audience who participates with enthusiasm. I had never seen Apocalyptica live and I thought instrumental music would bore me… I was wrong, it was great!

The Great Tour: When Sabaton sets the Sportpaleis on fire!

A bit before THE concert of the evening, the photographers have a briefing with Sabaton’s PR manager, Nick. He explains everything that will happen during the concert in terms of pyrotechnics and entertainment. He also reminds us that we are divided into two groups and shows us the division according to the setlist. I’m in group A, so I stay in the pit for the beginning of the show. We’ve been warned that it’s going to blow up on the first track, but in fact it’s very impressive and quite distracting.

In short, after a sweet introduction (“In Flanders Field”), it’s a cannon shot that gives the top start of the Sabaton concert, the musicians bursting on stage, as they often do on “Ghost Division”. Ideal to start in the energy and the band’s energy is once again overflowing! After “Great War”, which is also the title of their latest album released last summer, the combo leave the stage for a narration and comes back wearing gas masks. Only Joakim (vocals), also equipped with a smoke machine, will keep it throughout “The Attack Of The Dead Men”.

The Great Tour: When Sabaton sets the Sportpaleis on fire!

The tracks follow each other at breakneck speed and we don’t know where to stare, because something happens almost every minute: keyboards embedded in a Red Barron’s carcass, animations and screen replays, little jokes, famous riffs (Judas Priest, AC/DC, Iron Maiden,…) more flames and more fireworks and… As if all that wasn’t enough, we also get a bazooka shot on “Night Witches”! Halfway through the show, the band is joined by Apocalyptica for no less than six songs. It’s nice, but in my opinion, we don’t hear the cello enough.

Seen from the grandstands, the show is all the more impressive as the venue is so huge and full. However, from the audience’s point of view, it’s a bit strange. As much as there is a crazy atmosphere in the front rows, there are even some crowdsurfs, as much in the stands, it’s dead calm… One or the other arm rises timidly from time to time, but apart from that, everyone remains seated. No one moves a hair during “Carolus Rex”, for example, which is one of the band’s anthems.

Finally, for almost two hours, Sabaton ha filled our eyes and ears with excitement. Whatever people say, they are real showmen and what they do, they do it perfectly!

The Great Tour: When Sabaton sets the Sportpaleis on fire!

See the full gallerie of the event HERE !

Setlist :

01. Ghost Division
02. Great War
03. The Attack of the Dead Men
04. Seven Pillars of Wisdom
05. The Lost Battalion
06. The Red Baron
07. The Last Stand
08. Resist and Bite
09. Night Witches

With Apocalyptica :
10. Angels Calling
11. Fields of Verdun
12. The Price of a Mile
13. Dominium Maris Baltici
14. The Lion From the North
15. Carolus Rex

Encore :
16. Primo Victoria
17. Bismarck
18. Swedish Pagans
19. To Hell And Back

C’est franchement tendue que j’entre dans le Sportpaleis d’Anvers le soir du 2 février. C’était l’enfer pour se garer, il y a du monde partout et je ne sais pas trop où aller malgré les instructions reçues à l’entrée dans une petite enveloppe estampillée. Heureusement que je croise quelques collègues moins stressés qui m’éclairent.

Amaranthe, l’un de mes groupes favoris, ouvre la soirée dans cette immense salle qui ne cesse de se remplir. Avec leur metal électro, les Suédois tombent à point pour chauffer le public. À grand renfort de refrains ultra catchy, la mayonnaise a l’air de prendre au niveau des premiers rangs. Pour me détendre, je chante à tue-tête. On a tellement d’espace dans ce photo pit que je doute fort que les autres m’entendent. Cependant, je suis gênée par le décor de Sabaton déjà installé, tous les groupes sont condamnés à jouer derrière des fils barbelés. Soit, la prestation d’Amaranthe est excellente : énergique à souhait ainsi que musicalement et vocalement impeccable, les trois chanteurs assurent dans leur style respectif. La setlist aussi est bien pensée, regroupant plusieurs chansons de chaque album, parmi lesquelles on retrouve « Digital World », « Hunger », « GG6 », « That Song », « The Nexus » et aussi « Amaranthine », la ballade incontournable pour faire une petite pause dans ce set survolté. Juste génial ! Même si, évidemment, ces 45 minutes passées avec Amaranthe me laissent un goût de beaucoup trop peu.

The Great Tour : Quand Sabaton enflamme le Sportpaleis !

Petite pause, petite bière. Au prix où elles sont (3,50€) et sachant que les consignes pour shooter Sabaton sont particulières, on y va mollo. Ensuite, on enchaîne avec les Finlandais d’Apocalyptica qui commencent leur show avec un morceau issu de leur dernier album « Cell-0 », sorti au mois de janvier de cette année. Leur musique est atmosphérique et sombre, elle prend aux tripes. C’est si beau le violoncelle ! Et joué comme ça, c’est vraiment impressionnant. Le groupe propose un show visuel également, des images psychédéliques défilant sur les écrans en arrière-plan. Après trois compositions originales, les musiciens sont rejoints par Elize Ryd d’Amaranthe pour deux titres, dont « Seemann », célèbre morceau de Rammstein. Il faut dire qu’Apocalyptica est surtout connu pour ses reprises et notamment celles de Metallica. Ce soir, le groupe propose « Seek & Destroy » et « Nothing Else Matters » pour le plus grand plaisir du public qui participe avec entrain. Je n’avais jamais vu Apocalyptica en live et je pensais que la musique instrumentale allait m’ennuyer… Je me suis trompée, c’était super !

The Great Tour : Quand Sabaton enflamme le Sportpaleis !

Un peu avant LE concert de la soirée, les photographes ont un briefing avec le PR manager de Sabaton, Nick. Il nous explique tout ce qui se passera pendant le concert en termes de pyrotechnie et d’animations. Il nous rappelle également que nous sommes divisés en deux groupes et nous montre la répartition en fonction de la setlist. Je suis dans le groupe A, donc je reste dans le pit pour le début du show. On a beau être prévenus que ça va péter dans tous les sens sur le premier morceau, dans les faits, c’est hyper impressionnant et assez distrayant.

Bref, après une douce introduction (« In Flanders Field »), c’est un coup de canon qui donne le top départ du concert de Sabaton, les musiciens déboulant sur scène, comme souvent, sur « Ghost Division ». Idéal pour commencer dans l’énergie et celle du groupe est une fois de plus débordante ! Après « Great War », qui est aussi le titre de leur dernier album sorti l’été dernier, le combo sort de scène le temps d’une narration et revient en arborant des masques à gaz. Seul Joakim (chant), également équipé d’un ustensile à fumigènes, le gardera tout au long de « The Attack Of The Dead Men ».

The Great Tour : Quand Sabaton enflamme le Sportpaleis !

Les morceaux s’enchaînent à une vitesse folle et on ne sait pas où donner de la tête, car il se passe quelque chose presque à chaque minute : des claviers encastrés dans une carcasse de Barron Rouge, des animations et retransmissions sur les écrans, des petites blagues, des riffs connus (Judas Priest, AC/DC, Iron Maiden,…) encore des flammes et des feux d’artifice et… Comme si tout ça ne suffisait pas, nous avons aussi droit à un tir de bazooka sur « Night Witches » ! À la moitié du show, le groupe est rejoint par Apocalyptica pour pas moins de six morceaux. C’est sympa, mais à mon sens, on n’entend pas assez les violoncelles.

Vu des gradins, le spectacle est d’autant plus impressionnant tant la salle est énorme et remplie. Cependant, côté public, c’est un peu étrange. Autant c’est la folle ambiance dans les premiers rangs, il y a même quelques crowdsurfs, autant dans les tribunes, c’est le calme plat… L’un ou l’autre bras se lève timidement de temps en temps, mais à part ça, tout le monde reste assis. Personne ne bouge d’un poil pendant « Carolus Rex », par exemple, qui est pourtant un hymne du groupe.

Enfin, pendant près de deux heures, Sabaton nous en a mis plein les yeux et les oreilles. Quoi qu’on en dise, ce sont de véritables showmen et ce qu’ils font, ils le font parfaitement !

The Great Tour : Quand Sabaton enflamme le Sportpaleis !

Pour voir la galerie complète de l’événement, c’est ICI !

Setlist :

01. Ghost Division
02. Great War
03. The Attack of the Dead Men
04. Seven Pillars of Wisdom
05. The Lost Battalion
06. The Red Baron
07. The Last Stand
08. Resist and Bite
09. Night Witches

Avec Apocalyptica :

10. Angels Calling
11. Fields of Verdun
12. The Price of a Mile
13. Dominium Maris Baltici
14. The Lion From the North
15. Carolus Rex

Rappel :

16. Primo Victoria
17. Bismarck
18. Swedish Pagans
19. To Hell And Back