November 10 2019 : Ategnatos European Tour @ Trix with Infected Rain, Lacuna Coil and Eluveitie

 

It was a productive weekend! After two intense evenings at the Birthdeath in Tohogne, then at the Blood Upon The Castle in Anthisnes, it’s time to go back to the other side of Belgium for a much awaited event at the Trix. Tonight, three emblems of the current scene are playing in  a sold-out venue. Although those three bands are very different in their styles, by uniting in this way, they offer us an ideal line-up.

Once is not usual, I had never personally seen this at the Trix before, but the access is complicated. The doors open at 6:30 pm and the first band starts at 6:45 pm… But at 6:20 pm, the line is long in front of the venue and we think we will never get in on time. But all’s well that ends well, I end up reaching the pit during the first track of Infected Rain.

Infected Rain, therefore, opens the ball by mainly presenting its new album, “Endorphin”, with tracks such as “Passerby”, “Black Gold”, “The Earth Mantra” or “Lure”. We will also have access to old songs like “Mold” or “Orphan Soul”. Anyway, the band’s fans are there, they sing every chorus and don’t have to be asked to move. The set is relatively short, but of good quality. Wherever they are, these Moldovans definitely know how to set the mood!

Ategnatos European Tour : From Moldova to Switzerland via Italy

The stage change is quite fast and it is Lacuna Coil‘s turn to own the stage. If Lena of Infected Rain has a certain power of attraction, Cristina Scabbia has nothing to envy her! This one, ignited by the music, is hypnotizing. Even if her folks defend themselves well with their creepy clown makeup, it is very difficult to focus on someone other than her. In short, from the first track the tone is set: the presence, the energy, the songs, everything is planned to have a great time. The setlist is well balanced, although the Italians are promoting their latest album “Black Anima” from which they present “Layers Of Time”, “Reckless”, “Sword Of Anger” and the superb “Veneficum”. Of course, the band’s hits are not neglected and we are entitled to “Our Truth”, “Heaven’s A Lie”, “The House Of Shame”, their emblematic cover of Depeche Mode “Enjoy The Silence”, as well as “Nothing Stands On Our Way” to finish the set nicely and leave the conquered audience with a message of hope. For me, it was THE performance of the evening!

Ategnatos European Tour : From Moldova to Switzerland via Italy

Then it’s time for the Swiss of Eluveitie who are in charge of crowning the evening with their wild folk. The concert begins with an original touch with a simulated celtic celebration where three members of the band dressed in white chant at the front of the stage while others play percussions, placed behind a white sheet. After this gentle mystical start, it is the breakaway with the sequence of “Ategnatos” and “King”. Fortunately, these pieces are long, which allows the photographers present in large numbers to capture as much as possible of what is happening on stage. Indeed, the musicians are numerous and restless and personally, I don’t know where to put my eye. I’m a little disappointed, then, when Chrigel announces “The Call Of The Mountains” and leaves the choice of the version to the public. So it will be “De Ruef Vo De Bärge”… Either the show is very good, the band plays well, the singers are in voice and smiling, nothing to report in terms of quality. Also, the atmosphere is very good on the public side: people are pushing themselves and surfing in joy and good mood. For my part, I have trouble getting into the dance, even if I love Eluveitie and I am happy to hear some of my favorite songs (“A Rose For Epona”, “Ambiramus”, “Helvetios” or even “Rebirth”), the ultra folk and/or acoustic parts bore me and I dare to find the concert quite long. Finally, after nearly an hour and a half of show, the Swiss close the evening under a standing ovation with their anthem “Inis Mona”.

Ategnatos European Tour : From Moldova to Switzerland via Italy

After all this, it’s time to debrief at the bar and eventually go say hello to the Infected Rain guys who are never stingy with their fans. So we conclude a nice evening with a few beers and one or two selfies!

Le 10 novembre 2019 : Ategnatos European Tour @ Trix avec Infected Rain, Lacuna Coil et Eluveitie

 

C’était un week-end productif ! Après deux soirées intenses passées au Birthdeath à Tohogne, puis au Blood Upon The Castle à Anthisnes, il est temps de repartir à l’autre bout de la Belgique pour une date très attendue au Trix. Ce soir, ce sont trois emblèmes de la scène actuelle qui se donnent la réplique à guichet fermé. Bien que très différents dans leur style respectif, en s’unissant de la sorte, ces trois groupes nous offrent un line-up idéal.

Une fois n’est pas coutume, en tout cas je n’avais personnellement jamais vu ça au Trix, l’entrée est compliquée. Les portes ouvrent à 18h30 et le premier groupe commence à 18h45… Mais, à 18h20, la file est conséquente devant la salle et on se dit qu’on n’entrera jamais à temps. Mais tout est bien qui finit bien, je parviens à atteindre le pit pendant le premier morceau d’Infected Rain.

Infected Rain, donc, ouvre le bal en présentant principalement son nouvel album, « Endorphin », avec des titres tels que « Passerby », « Black Gold », « The Earth Mantra » ou encore « Lure ». On aura également droit à d’anciens morceaux comme « Mold » ou « Orphan Soul ». Quoi qu’il en soit, les fans du groupe sont présents, ils scandent chaque refrain et ne se font pas prier pour bouger. Le set est relativement court, mais de bonne qualité. Où qu’ils soient, ces Moldaves savent définitivement mettre l’ambiance !

Ategnatos European Tour : De la Moldavie à la Suisse en passant par l’Italie

Le changement de plateau est assez rapide et c’est au tour de Lacuna Coil de posséder la scène. Si Lena d’Infected Rain a un certain pouvoir d’attraction, Cristina Scabbia n’a rien à lui envier ! Cette dernière, embrasée par la musique, est hypnotisante. Même si ses acolytes se défendent bien avec leurs maquillages de clowns glauques, il est très difficile de se concentrer sur quelqu’un d’autre qu’elle. Bref, dès le premier morceau le ton est donné : la présence, l’énergie, les chansons, tout est prévu pour passer un super moment. La setlist est bien équilibrée, bien que les Italiens fassent la promotion de leur dernier opus « Black Anima » duquel ils présentent « Layers Of Time », « Reckless », « Sword Of Anger » et le superbe « Veneficum ». Bien sûr, les hits du groupe ne sont pas délaissés et nous avons droit à « Our Truth », « Heaven’s A Lie », « The House Of Shame », leur reprise emblématique de Depeche Mode « Enjoy The Silence », ainsi que « Nothing Stands On Our Way » pour terminer le set en beauté et quitter le public conquis avec un message d’espoir. Pour moi, c’était LA performance de la soirée !

Ategnatos European Tour : De la Moldavie à la Suisse en passant par l’Italie

Place ensuite aux Suisses d’Eluveitie qui sont chargés de couronner la soirée avec leur folk endiablé. Le concert commence sur une touche originale avec une simulation de célébration celtique où trois membres du groupe vêtus de blanc psalmodient à l’avant de la scène tandis que d’autres jouent des percussions en ombres chinoises, placés derrière un drap blanc. Après ce démarrage mystique tout en douceur, c’est la déferlante avec l’enchaînement de « Ategnatos » et « King ». Heureusement que ces morceaux sont longs, cela permet aux photographes présents en nombre de capter au maximum ce qui se passe sur scène. En effet, les musiciens sont nombreux et remuants et personnellement, je ne sais pas trop où donner de la tête. Je suis un peu déçue, ensuite, quand Chrigel annonce « The Call Of The Mountains » et laisse le choix de la version au public. Ce sera donc « De Ruef Vo De Bärge »… Soit, le show est très bon, le groupe joue bien, les chanteurs sont en voix et souriants, rien n’est à signaler en terme de qualité. Aussi, l’ambiance est très bonne côté public : ça se pousse et ça surfe dans la joie et la bonne humeur. Pour ma part, j’ai du mal à entrer dans la danse, même si j’adore Eluveitie et que je suis contente d’entendre quelques-uns de mes morceaux préférés (« A Rose For Epona », « Ambiramus », « Helvetios » ou encore « Rebirth »), les parties ultra folk et/ou acoustiques m’ennuient et j’ose trouver le concert très long. Enfin, après près d’une heure et demie de concert, les Suisses clôturent la soirée sous une ovation avec leur hymne « Inis Mona ».

Ategnatos European Tour : De la Moldavie à la Suisse en passant par l’Italie

Après tout ça, c’est l’heure de débriefer au bar et éventuellement d’aller faire un coucou aux gars d’Infected Rain qui ne sont jamais avares de contact avec leurs fans. On conclut donc une chouette soirée avec quelques bières et un ou deux selfies !